Chakras 101: The 7 Chakras And Their Meanings
| Chakra | Sacral Chakra | Chakra Colors | Root Chakra | Solar Plexus Chakra | Chakra Stones | Heart Chakra | Throat Chakra |

If you are into yoga or other spiritual practices, you have most likely heard about chakras. The concept of chakras is also widely popular in a range of meditation practices and religions.

Many people find it difficult to understand what chakras really are and what is their meaning. Learning about chakras and how you can activate them is a step you can take to achieve balance and become more confident. Continue reading to learn about the 7 main chakras and their meanings, as well as how to unblock them.
chakra crystals | chakra stones | chakra balancing | chakra sets | chakra unblocking | chakra oils | chakra guide |
What Are Chakras?
Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates into ‘wheel’. Chakras refer to the energy centers in the human body. Chakras regulate all the processes within the body be they physical or spiritual.

There are different opinions regarding the shape of the chakras. Some people believe chakras are shaped like spheres or balls. Others imagine chakras to have a flower shape.

Chakras are in the astral body. The latter is the emotional body that resides within our physical body. And while chakras are not a physical thing, they do affect our organs and physical health.

The 7 Main Chakras And Their Meanings
There are seven chakras in the human body. They are located along the spine, starting from the base of the spine and running all the way up to the crown of the head.

1. Root Chakra
The root chakra, also known as Muladhara, is located at the base of the spine. It is associated with the earth element and has a red color.

The root chakra is responsible for feelings of security, safety, and stability. It is the first chakra that gives us a sense of belonging. When your root chakra is unblocked, you feel safe and grounded both physically and emotionally. A blocked or imbalanced root chakra may cause anxiety, fears, and even health problems in the lower body.

Grounding exercises can help unblock the root chakra, such as walking barefoot and visualizing your roots. As the root chakra is associated with the physical body, doing physical exercises also helps to unblock it.
chakra meditation | what is chakra | yellow chakra | orange chakra | chakras for beginners | chakra yoga |
2. Sacral Chakra
Svadhisthana is another name for the sacral chakra. This chakra is associated with pleasure and passion and is located right below the belly button. The sacral chakra is responsible for our creativity.
The sacral chakra is always depicted with the orange color which is the color of happiness. It encompasses the red color of the root chakra and the yellow chakra that sits above it.

You may experience a lack of creativity, loneliness, and anxiety if your sacral chakra is blocked. Physically, a blocked sacral chakra may affect your lower back, sexual organs, kidneys, and everything in that area.

Unlocking your sacral chakra can be as easy as doing things you truly enjoy. From painting to dancing, anything that reconnects you with your senses works. Meditation and self-reflection can help unblock the sacral chakra too.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra
The third chakra is the Solar Pexus Chakra also known as the Manipura chakra. It sits in the upper abdomen, right below the breastbone, and is responsible for our self-confidence and self-esteem. In other words, Solar Pexus chakra is the chakra of personal power.

The Solar Pexus chakra is yellow which symbolizes Fire and Sun.

Low self-esteem and eating and digestion problems are some of the first signs that your Solar Pexus chakra is blocked. Affirmations about personal power, working with yellow crystals, meditating, and practicing yoga are only a few of the ways to unblock Solar Pexus chakra.
 throat chakra | crown chakra | third eye chakra | chakra meaning | chakra crystals | chakra healing |
4. Heart Chakra
The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest. Heart is the center of love. It is not surprising that the heart chakra is responsible for affection, forgiveness, and compassion.

Represented by the color green, the heart chakra is all about our ability to give and receive love. Thus, if you find it hard for you to do these things, then your heart chakra might be blocked.

Gratitude practices and meditation practices that cultivate love can help unblock the heart chakra.

5. Throat Chakra
The throat chakra, also known as Vishuddha, sits in the throat and is associated with the color blue. It’s easy to guess that the throat chakra is associated with our ability to communicate. The throat chakra is also responsible for self-expression.

A blocked throat chakra causes different emotional and physical problems. The physical problems caused by a blocked throat chakra include throat, gum, and teeth issues. Being unable to speak your mind or speak confidently is also a sign that you need to unblock your throat chakra.

Some yoga poses like plow pose, shoulder stand, and fish pose, are good for unblocking the throat chakra. Singing and journaling can also be efficient for unblocking the throat chakra.
chakra sacral | chakra | chakra colors | root chakra | solar plexus chakra | chakra stones | heart chakra |
6. Third Eye Chakra
The third eye chakra is located between the eyes and is represented by indigo blue. It is often associated with higher consciousness and a state of enlightenment.

The third eye chakra, also known as Ajna Brow, is responsible for intuition, clear thought, and perception.
When blocked, the third eye chakra causes headaches, sadness, inability to concentrate, as well as vision and hearing problems. Relaxation and visualization practices can help unblock the third eye chakra.

7. Crown Chakra
The crown chakra is the seventh main chakra. Represented by white or violet, this chakra sits at the top of the head. It may take quite some time to unblock the crown chakra as it happens when you reach divine consciousness.

The crown chakra represents our higher self and is associated with inner peace and enlightenment. When blocked, crown chakra makes a person unwilling to accept new ideas and thoughts. Feeling unstable emotionally and physically is also a sign that the crown chakra is blocked.

Guided meditations for activating the crown chakra can be really helpful if you commit to them. Expanding your mind is another great way to unblock the crown chakra. Some of the most efficient ways to unblock the crown chakra are to read books, venture into things you are not familiar with, learn new skills, etc.
How Do You Unblock Chakras?

Your body will give warning signs if your chakras are blocked or out of balance. You may experience headaches, digestive issues, arthritis, vision and hearing problems, etc. Aside from the physical signs, you will also experience emotional issues, such as moodiness, fear, anxiety, inability to communicate with people, and negative feelings altogether.

For this reason, it is important to try and unblock your chakras. There are different ways to unblock your chakras. Here are some of them.


See a typo or inaccuracy? Let us know so we can fix it!

Sharing is caring ❤️



Sign up for information, inspiration, and specials.